fostering a world where everone WINs
home The WIN Awards media about news Partners Contact
Seeing Women in 3D - Not Double- D
The WIN Awards - Women's Image Network announces its WIN Award Winners
Lily Tomlin

LOS ANGELES -- On September 9, 2002, Ms. Lily Tomlin picked up her WIN Award for Lifetime Achievement. After serenading Lily with an 'opera' which he wrote expressly for her and then after reading 'Lily Love Letters' from friends like Robert Altman, Ben Stiller and Midge Sandford/Sarah Pillsbury, David O. Russell (THREE KINGS), presented Ms. Tomlin with her award. Also on hand to sing Lily's praises were Laraine Newman, Kathy Najimy, Ruth Buzzi, Doris Roberts, Melissa Joan Hart, Anne-Marie Johnson, Arthur Hiller, Dava Savel, Sally Kirkland and Alex Ben Block.

The WIN Awards 2002
Lily Tomlin and Ruth Buzzi



Lily Tomlin and Ruth Buzzi

Those who also picked up a 2002 WIN Award include the categories and winners in, Episodic Drama: "Alias" Producer, JJ Abrams, Jennifer Garner, (Alias), Victor Garber, (Alias); Episodic Comedy: "The Simpsons", Producer, Al Jean ; Actress: Kathy Najimy (The King of The Hill); Children's Programming: "Justice League", Producers, Bruce Timm, Glen Murakami, Rich Fogel, James Tucker Actress: Julie Nathanson, (The Zeta Project), Actor: Diedrich Bader, (The Zeta Project), Documentary: (a tie) "Beneath The Veil", Producer/Journalist Saira Shah and "Sheryl Crow: Behind The Music", Producers, Paul Gallagher, Justin Sturken, Mark Ford, Andrea Buchanan, Jill Modabber; News: "Good Morning America-LA Dodgers Fan", Producer Bill Cunningham; Feature Film: "Amelie", Ryan Philippe, Actor for "Gosford Park" and Audrey Tautou, Actress for "Amelie".

The WIN Awards were part of the closing night of the 4th Annual 'Femme-Tastic' WinFemme Film Festival, which ran September 6-9, 2002, at the LA FILM SCHOOL. The three audience award winners were, Feature, "Controlled Chaos", director, Azita Zendel, documentary, "Searching For Paradise", director, Binnur Karaevli and short, "Katherine", director, Mary Louise Stoughton.
Presenter, David O. Russell, Lily Tomlin, Living Legend Honoree 2002

Presenter, David O. Russell and
Lily Tomlin, Living Legend Honoree

More Lily Tomlin and Event Photos

The WIN Awards were created to applaud those in film and television who "tell women's stories well". Created by actress/filmmaker, Phyllis Stuart, according to Stuart, "since 1993 Women's Image Network has encouraged others to positively portray women in the media to help level the playing field for women. But the WIN awards were created to exploit women- in the best sense of the word. To get us past the four B's: broad, bitch, babe, and bimbo. To see women in 3-D, not double D".

Until last year, the WIN Awards were presented on a 'by-invitation' only basis. But last year we invited the networks and studios to submit and compete with their shows and films that feature female protagonists. Tonight's nominees were selected from the submissions we received, so not every show or film out there was eligible. The WIN Award categories are: Episodic comedy, Episodic Drama, Documentary, Children's Programming, News Shows and Feature Films.

green line

Light ProductionsWomen's Image Network
through Light Productions, Inc.
WIN / Light Productions, Inc. is a 501c3 non-profit corporations. Your donations are fully tax-deductible as allowed by law.
green line
©1993-2016 Light-Productions, Inc. / Women's Image Network. All Rights Reserved
webmaster Reseda Mickey